Archived News

Aug 30, 2015

Cowdrey Shield 2015


Colin Cowdrey generously donated this trophy in 1987 and it was decided that this would be a nine hole Stableford Competiton.

In 1990 it was decided to make changes, firstly to upgrade it to 18 hole to bring in line with other head to head tournaments, secondly to make it one of the qualifiers for the Masters for the top 8.  When these changes were made there were 12 players.

Now in 2015 we have 24 players who took part and the event was held at the Forest of Arden, Warwickshire.

Category: Archive
Posted by: Stephanie


The last major competition of the calendar year was recently held at the prestigious Forest of Arden Golf Club near Coventry. Twenty four players took part in the Stableford event on The Aylesford course, which is not overly long, but, still had its challenges.

There were a number of good scores which included rounds of 37 points from Andy Gilford, Andy Sellars and Euin Hill. The runner up in the event with 38 points was Ron Tomlinson guided by his wife Steph, who also won the Steve Ford trophy for the best B1. but the winner with a score of 40 points was Pieta Le Roux from Beverley in Yorkshire guided by Leon LeRoux.

Barry Ritchie







The full results are below

Name Handicap Sight Classification Stableford Points
LeRoux Pieta 15 B2 40
Tomlinson Ron 52 B1 38
Gilford Andy 20 B2 37
Hill Euin 43 B2 37
Sellars Andy 26 B2 37
Ritchie Barry 50 B1 35
Elrick Malcolm 28 B2 34
Hodgkinson Peter 49 B1 34
Sheridan Derrick 45 B2 34
Field Derek 41 B2 33
McAllister Billy 38 B1 31
Osborne Peter 19 B3 31
Beevers Steve 16 B3 29
Cole Roger 45 B2 29
Radford Francis 45 B3 26
Williams John 45 B2 20
O’Brien Jim 54 B1 16
Goodger Brian 45 B2 14
Mills Nick 54 B1 13
Sturdy Mark 45 B2 11
Kennedy Bolton Jean 54 B2 10
Killeen Matt 36 B3 9
Atkins Danny 54 B1 4
Spellar Mathew 24 B3 4